The members of the Pension Appeal Board are appointed by the Finnish Government on the motion of the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health and in accordance with Section 3 of the Act on the Pension Appeal Board.  The appointment is for five years at a time. The current members have been appointed for the period 1 January 2017 – 31 December 2021. The Pension Appeal Board has a full-time chairman, four part-time deputy chairmen and 24 permanent members as well as their 24 individual deputies. Members include medical professionals, earnings-related pension experts and experts in working life conditions. The Board members serve in their positions on a part-time basis and hold judicial responsibility. Existing regulations on the holders of judicial office determine the right of the chairman, deputy chairmen and members to remain in office.

The Composition of the Pension Appeal Court


Deputy chairmen

Master of Laws Petteri Immonen

Master of Laws Tiina Muinonen


Master of Laws Mika Mänttäri


Senior Lawyer Lauri Pelkonen


Senior Lawyer Kirsi Päivänsalo

The chairman's and the deputy chairmen's commom deputy member is Senior Lawyer Olli Puustinen


Members specialised in earnings-related pension matters

Permanent members

Deputy members

Master of Arts Harri Isokorpi

Master of Science in Economics and Buciness Administration Susanna Grimm-Vikman 

Master of Laws Kimmo Kangasjärvi

Master of Laws Virpi Korhonen

Senior Lawyer Kristiina Piilola

Master of Laws Kari Peltonen

Master of Laws Milja Tiainen

Senior Lawyer Pekka Paaermaa

Master of Social Sciences Ulla-Maija Rajakangas

Master of Laws Virva Walo


Physician members

Permanent members

Deputy members

Doctor of Medical Science and Surgery, Specialist in orthopedics and traumatology Aarne Kivioja

Specialist in occupational health Petri Nieminen

Physician, Specialist in physiatrics Kia Pelto-Vasenius

Specialist in neurology Sari Atula

Doctor of Medical Science and Surgery, Specialist in physiatrics Kaija Puustjärvi-Sunabacka

Physician, GP, Specialist in physiatrics Seppo Villanen

Psychiatrist Roope Raassina

Physician, Specialist in physiatrics Jukka Pekka Kouri

Physician, Specialist in internal medicine and cardiology Ilkka Tierala

Head occupational health physician Aarne Laakkonen


Members specialised in working life and labour market conditions

Permanent members

Deputy members

Director of Legal Affairs Markus Äimälä

Expert Katja Leppänen

Leading Expert Vesa Rantahalvari

Taxexpert Tiina Ruohola

Leading Expert Riitta Wärn

Expert Virpi Pasanen

Legal Expert Mikko Nyyssölä

Expert Hannu Ylänen

Labour Market Representative Merja Renko

Labour Market Lawyer Anna Gau

Working environment expert Jouni Salonen

Contract Secretary Markku Häyrynen

Expert Alli Tiensuu  

Lawyer Katja Syrjänen

Expert Anu Tuovinen

Employment Lawyer Timo Voutilainen

Lawyer Samppa Koskela

Negotiations Manager Riikka Rapinoja

Lawyer Keijo Tarnanen

Negotiations Manager Markku Kojo


Members specialised in entrepreneurship conditions

Permanent members

Deputy members

Managing director, Master of Laws Tiina Oksala

Head of legislative affairs Tiina Toivonen

Head of labour market affairs Harri Hellstén

Taxation expert Laura Kurki


Members specialised in farming entrepreurship conditions

Ordinary members

Deputy members

Organisation representative Virpi Siitonen

Lawyer Marica Twerin

Head of research Juha Lappalainen

Representative Antti Lavonen